Bryan Hemming

short stories, comment, articles, humour and photography

Time for a re-set

Table 017Some of you will have noticed I haven’t been posting so much on my sites the last few months. This is partly due to the fact a couple of net-based alternative news outlets have been taking an interest in some of my more serious articles to the extent of republishing them. As they have much larger readerships than I could ever hope for with my blog I’ve started writing pieces with them in mind. An Australian magazine has also expressed an interest in my work.

One site even asked me to join their team. After giving the offer serious consideration, I turned it down. It would take too much time along with all the other stuff waiting to be completed. Nevertheless, I continued contributing to the site from time to time. Since then, I’ve had a rethink. Something has to go. Though writing stuff for my blog has been lots of fun, trying to get something new out every week, as well as writing and researching for articles, has been proving too much lately.

Added to that, with the global situation as it is, it has become even more important to let our governments and mainstream media outlets know where we stand. To judge by blogs, comments sections, and the social media – not to mention Corbyn and Sanders effects springing up everywhere – it should be glaringly obvious disenchantment with the way things are going is spreading like bushfire. Huge numbers of us are extremely disillusioned at current events and we’re not afraid to shout about it. That disillusionment is swiftly turning to anger at where we are being led. We’re not so stupid as not to know when we being told lies. Our political leaders and media outlets are telling us ever greater lies about the world economy, big business, globalisation and war, to the extent they can no longer be trusted.

My own anger and sadness have led me to believe we all have an obligation to fight back against the tide of disinformation and propaganda being shovelled down our throats on a daily basis by those who don’t have our interests at heart. If we don’t become active the democracy, our grandparents and their parents fought so hard to win, will be snatched away from us. And it will be snatched away at the point of a gun without a moment’s hesitation, whenever and wherever deemed necessary, if push comes to shove. I am determined to do my bit to present an alternative view of current affairs as an antidote to the deceptions we’re being force fed. They’ve had their say, now let’s have ours!

To get to the point; I won’t be publishing quite so often over the next few months, as the articles I am working on demand a lot of hours. I also hope to devote more time to my fiction. But all is not lost for my small knot of dedicated foot soldiers, who have followed me through thick and thin. I will still be posting shorter items and a few photos from time to time.

I don’t expect to achieve an awful lot, but it will be a lot more than sitting on my backside complaining all the time. Actually, when I think about it, being in front of a screen, writing articles all day, is sitting on my backside complaining all the time. But you know what I mean.

I will be linking to articles featured on other sites.

16 comments on “Time for a re-set

  1. rangewriter
    September 12, 2015

    You go, Bryan! Indeed, the caliber of your writing and thinking demands a larger audience…and hopefully a bit of a paycheck. Priorities are a must and I think you have made a wise choice with yours. Keep at it. When you post we’ll be here, eager to discover what’s rattling around in that prodigious brain of yours. Meanwhile…go to bat.

    Like

  2. Bryan Hemming
    September 7, 2015

    One of the things I want time to do is finish the “enchanting tales” still in the pipeline. There are a few that have yet to be posted.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura Bloomsbury
    September 7, 2015

    I’ve always doubted that the pen is mightier than the sword as I would much rather fight the good fight literally but its all done with mass media, social media, photoshopped images and windbags of all hues these days. I miss your enchanting tales but perhaps you see the world has become serious enough for your other talents. All the best Bryan

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bryan Hemming
    September 7, 2015

    Thanks for the link, Uta, your piece – and the link you give – are well-worth reading.

    It certainly does appear that a huge proportion of the English-speaking world in particular is turning a blind eye to a lot of war crimes being committed in their name. The problem is that events have taken another turn, as the governments involved expect their citizens to deal with the refugees created by their failures.

    I am completely against war of all sorts. But what is particularly disturbing about the present ongoing wars is that they have no firm objectives. Stopping terrorism is not a firm objective but an ill-defined one, which allows the goalposts to be constantly shifted.

    Without actually ‘winning’ anything, we are constantly being told by generals, who would be regarded as less than useless in all-out conflict, that their wars are succesful. If they are so successful, why have they yet to actually win one? This is one of the subjects I hope to tackle soon.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. auntyuta
    September 7, 2015

    Yes, Brian, we have a lot to complain. I think as an Australian I am more or less in the same boat that an American is in. It seems to me that most people do not mind so much of being lied to or do not even bother about finding out about it or thinking about it for as long as they personally are doing all right and can lead the ‘good life’!
    I came across an interesting point of view by an American Investigative Historian yesterday. Maybe you’d like to have a look at it in my blog:

    http://auntyuta.com/2015/09/06/what-is-the-fate-of-europe/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nil
      September 8, 2015

      The article is certainly worth reading – but (please don’t take this personally!), it has too much of the ‘old’ way of thinking from the times of the ‘cold’ war – very black and white while the situation has grown so unbelievably complex and chaotic in the meantime… :-/

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Frances
    September 6, 2015

    Well it gives me hope, knowing that your writing will be reaching a wider audience. We need writers and critics like yourself challenging the god awful establishment media, and I’ve always been grateful for your well thought out and analytical articles
    Hope there will still be a few fictional pieces , they are a delight!
    Good for you Bryan

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bryan Hemming
      September 7, 2015

      Thank you so much for your encouraging words, Frances. You’ll be pleased to know that one of the reasons I’m going to be posting far less on my blog is that I’m hoping I’ll be able to devote more time to fiction, as it is my first love. There are a lot of pieces in the pipeline that need a few final tweaks. I hope to be able to begin posting some of them in coming months.

      It has been a constant source of frustration for me – following some intial success with a few travel articles in the Independent – that other media outlets, though expressing quite a bit of interest, didn’t publish my work. After submitting work to various titles, only to receive a flurry of ‘hums’ and ‘has’ before final rejection, I began to realise unknown outsiders didn’t have to be as good as the chums of those already on the newspapers, they had to be far, far better in order to stand a chance.

      You can understand why I am now pleased to discover there are reasonably well-known alternative sites only too happy to have my work, even though they don’t have any money to pay for it. So, what’s new? The mainstream media often pay less per hour (if you do proper research) than the living wage so many go on about. Only well-known names get more than decently paid. That goes a long way to explaining why standards have fallen so far.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Colltales
    September 6, 2015

    I hate to see you go, as the song goes. But it seems to be for the best to you, and I think that those outlets will be lucky to have you around. I too wonder whether I’d already had this moment of quitting the blog, but instead of gutsily taking the plunge, I’m not sure I was even aware of or prepared to it. Wish you all the best and, yes, glad you’ve thought of us and that we’ll get to follow your inspired prose elsewhere too. I’ve gotta say this, though: in my book, this really doesn’t bode well for the new season. So long for now, fellow trooper.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bryan Hemming
      September 7, 2015

      I haven’t quite gone completely, yet, Wesley. But I do have to cut down considerably, mainly because I have a backlog of stuff I don’t seem to be able to finish. Another point is that spending so much time in front of a screen isn’t so good for my physical health and mental wellbeing.

      It would be great pity if you gave up your blog, as you bring so many things to people’s attention they might otherwise not know, or think, about. For me, it’s always well worth reading another take on the subject, even when I do.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nil
      September 8, 2015

      Why a sad goodbye when Bryan takes a new path and we can follow him on his way? 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      • Colltales
        September 8, 2015

        True, it did sound a bit of a put down, didn’t it? But it was unintended, and he understood where I came from. Thanks for keeping me on my toes. Cheers

        Liked by 2 people

  8. Wendy Kate
    September 6, 2015

    Well. how brilliant is that! I was going to say make sure you link us in to your other articles, but you got there before me… I am not blogging anymore, as I am too busy but still following the best of the rest – that’s you of course! Glad you are not going to forget us foot soldiers 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bryan Hemming
      September 7, 2015

      Blogging certainly does take a lot of time, as does following blogs. I have to do so much other reading and research to try to make sure I’m not leading readers down the wrong path. Part of the reason for me taking the thing to the next level is because the mainstream media get it wrong so many times.

      Last July I pointed out that the Independent had wrongly classified Turkey as an Arab nation in an editorial about Turkey joining the bombing of target within Syria. Making such an obvious mistake – given that it is considered a slight in Turkey – brought into question the paper’s credentials for commenting on the matter. See here. Within 48 hours Turkish bombers launched an attack, not on Isis, but on the Kurds, who have been the most effective force in combating Isis on the ground. You can read that here. In it I question the real reasons behind Erdoğan’s sudden keeness. It took the Independent almost a month to catch up, and some media outlets still haven’t admitted that it was a huge mistake for the U.S. to make such an agreement with Turkey; they choose to ignore it instead, or pretend they never supported it originally. These ‘mistakes’ cost many innocent lives.

      If I can see it straight more or less away, there has to be something very wrong with U.S.’intelligence’ and the mainstream media, as nearly all were praising the move at the beginning. Only now the Independent runs articles saying it was a mistake. If only they (and the rest of the MSM) had said so at the time. Yes, another mistake that has led to even more Syrians fleeing a Middle East nation that was relatively peaceful until various outside forces decided it needed a regime change.

      Liked by 2 people

  9. Nil
    September 6, 2015

    It is a good thing that the world has people like you in it, Bryan… 🙂

    While reading I was thinking that I have to ask you where we can read the other articles – but when I got to the end, that was answered 😉 I can only speak for myself but I will certainly be following you around 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bryan Hemming
      September 7, 2015

      Thanks for your support Nil. It’s very welcome. But don’t fret, I will be posting extracts on my blog with links. And, as it’s not certain other outlets will take all my output, some articles will still end up being posted on my site in their entirety.

      Liked by 2 people

Don't bottle it up, let everybody know your opinion. And please feel free to leave a link to any of your recent posts

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2015 by in Articles, Journalism and tagged , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Rules on comments

As the comments sections are not intended to be general forums, comments are expected to bear some relevance to the subject of the post. Nevertheless, I do allow some generous leeway in this, particularly if I judge the comment to be of special interest.

Although I'm only too happy to link to your posts, those posts should be your own work, and not the work of others, due to copyright issues.

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Blogs I check out

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

These caught my eye

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Hits

  • 60,278 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Pages

Politics and Insights

Public interest issues, policy, equality, human rights, social science

VIVID

Hold your verve

El Coleccionista Hipnótico

hypnotist collector

More Crows than Eagles

More Coyotes than Wolves

Spanish scribbles

My journey into sketching and drawing in and around Jimena de la Frontera, Andalucia

The Contrary Farmer

Gene Logsdon Memorial Blogsite

Micheline's Blog

Art, music, books, history & current events

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

Wish I Were Here

Journeys Through Place and Time

