Bryan Hemming

short stories, comment, articles, humour and photography

How old is your brain?

The author at two

The author at two years old

Like me, you’ve probably been thinking your brain is as old as your toes or your ears. Apparently, it’s not. Some brains are older, and some brains are younger than the skulls protecting them from inclement weather and accidental knocks on the head.

Amazingly enough my brain turns out to be only eighteen years old. That was after a bit of cheating. When I did the test a second time, answering the questions more honestly, my brain turned out to have lost two years in the short interval between tests. If I keep trying I could probably get my brain age down to two years old. People have been telling me I must have the brain of a two-year-old for years. Looks like they might have been right all along. Now, all I need to do is get my body age down to match it.

To find out how old your brain is, click onto the link to The Independent newspaper: What’s your brain age? And then let us all know in the comments section. Actual age is not required.

15 comments on “How old is your brain?

  1. Laura Bloomsbury
    November 8, 2014

    According to spirometer I’ve the lungs of a 70 year old so am averse to finding out how well the rest of me is doing!! I do the lumosity brain training to try and keep up – like your bloomers. Thanks for making me laugh – at your post not pic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ginjuh
    November 7, 2014

    A medical excuse for throwing a big ol tantrum!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. therapyjourney
    November 7, 2014

    Cutest photo ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rangewriter
    November 7, 2014

    Oh dear, this looks way too much like the “What horse(car,month,country,color,animal, ad infinitum) are you?” disease that has invade Facebook in recent months. :-{0

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bryan Hemming
      November 7, 2014

      Yes, it certainly does. It reminds me of the little folded bits of paper we made at school, which first used to have a choice of red, blue, green and yellow…

      This one seemed particularly stupid, so I was attracted to it straightaway.

      Like

      • rangewriter
        November 8, 2014

        Oh I remember those little paper puzzles. I was more fascinated by the folding process than with the contents.(Folding is the bane of my existence. I can’t even wear a scarf properly! :-0

        Like

  5. Wendy Kate
    November 6, 2014

    Well, that’s strange. If I was 23 to 25 then my brain is 15 years younger…but I am am a tad older than that, ☺️also, I thought taking asprin and multi vitamins was not not considered a good thing?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bryan Hemming
      November 7, 2014

      We didn’t do tads at my school. How many tads are there in a little bit? I ask simply because, with so much honesty about and, to be quite candid, I am a little bit older than I appear in the photo.

      Like

  6. colltales
    November 6, 2014

    My brain age is, oh, I forgot. Thanks a lot, Bryan, now I’m really depressed. The upside is that, from now on, I can blame all those mental slips and mishaps on this study. Or something to that effect. I’m confused. What was the question again?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bryan Hemming
      November 6, 2014

      What are you talking about? Wesley… Wesley… Wesley… I remember now, you came to our house, didn’t you? The man that owes you money doesn’t live here anymore.

      Like

  7. eremophila
    November 6, 2014

    It said my brain age was the same as my body age… but what that is I’m not telling! As for the questions, well, not my choice of the most relevant things to ask! Was anything asked about humour for instance? I rest my case 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't bottle it up, let everybody know your opinion. And please feel free to leave a link to any of your recent posts

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2014 by in Humour and tagged , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Rules on comments

As the comments sections are not intended to be general forums, comments are expected to bear some relevance to the subject of the post. Nevertheless, I do allow some generous leeway in this, particularly if I judge the comment to be of special interest.

Although I'm only too happy to link to your posts, those posts should be your own work, and not the work of others, due to copyright issues.

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Blogs I check out

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

These caught my eye

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Hits

  • 64,479 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Pages

Politics and Insights

Public interest issues, policy, equality, human rights, social science

VIVID

Hold your verve

El Coleccionista Hipnótico

hypnotist collector

More Crows than Eagles

More Coyotes than Wolves

Spanish scribbles

My journey into sketching and drawing in and around Jimena de la Frontera, Andalucia

The Contrary Farmer

Gene Logsdon Memorial Blogsite

Micheline's Blog

Art, music, books, history & current events

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

Wish I Were Here

Journeys Through Place and Time

