Bryan Hemming

short stories, comment, articles, humour and photography

The Scream – doesn’t it make you want to scream?

Image Detail

Doesn’t it just? A pastel version of The Scream, or Skrik in Nowegian, sells for $120m at Sotheby’s in New York. I doubt Edvard Munch would’ve been impressed, though he might have churned out a few more versions. Just for the hell of it. He came from a very religious family. His father was a doctor, who devoted much of his life to treating the poor at a time when Oslo was full of them. Read more

Copyright© 2012 Bryan Hemming               Conil

9 comments on “The Scream – doesn’t it make you want to scream?

  1. prenin
    June 4, 2012

    Hi Bryan! 🙂

    Thanks for the visit and comment! 🙂

    Funny: You just described my current lifestyle minus the Marmite! 🙂

    May I be as successful in my writing as you have been! 🙂

    I have found I am never alone with folks like those I find on the web! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Like

  2. anonymous
    May 30, 2012

    well narrated ! u can check some cool stories on storyteller

    Like

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    May 3, 2012

    What do I think? Well, firstly thanks for the links. I did not know of this artist at all. But I was fascinated to read re the FRIEZE of life – I looked up what FRIEZE meant, and it just gave me more curiosity…

    Bryan this is a hugely interesting article, & I feel so in your company “we plebs”…. I didn’t know so many in your family are published INCLUDING YOU, you should be proud 🙂

    ‘only four Mona Lisas’ indeed. But how many Andy Warhol – beans, was it?? Anyway, art is to me infinitely interesting in what price “people” would place on it. I totally, unforgettably, remember my first (9-5) job – actually first started working at 14. I was 17 & ran from my dad’s hold, & this painter came by the offices & unfolded his canvases & I liked this particular ocean scene. I REMEMBER I WAS GETTING $125/WEEK. The painting was $120. I told him I wanted to buy it. I did. I got by.

    Years later, someone comments “they’re like common chocolate tin pics, like, look at the circle, with the ocean coming out of the borders – HOW MUCH did you say you paid for it????”

    Even after that conversation, I still valued it as much. Yet, within the year I had lost my will to put all else before it, to not lose it. I gave it away, I think, to the Good Sammys.

    So how much are my words worth, or yours? I think, fellow writer Bryan, only as much as the reader decides.

    Alas.

    Like

    • Bryan Hemming
      May 3, 2012

      Amongst many other things, I worked in the arts and antiques business for many years. I loved buying and selling stuff.

      But the mistakes I made, each like an arrow straight into the heart of my foolish pride. You cannot believe how many things I bought I wanted to hide away once I found out they weren’t what I thought they were.

      But the biggest mistake of all is to confuse monetary values with aesthetic values. Just because we like, or even love, something that turns out to be worth less in money terms, than we first thought, shouldn’t decrease its sentimental or aesthetic value. We feel fooled. So what? The problem is when we fool ourselves. That’s the side con-artists prey upon.

      Like

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        May 3, 2012

        Absolutely, Bryan.
        It is only just as well I am a con artist too, for I had conned myself into still loving that picture, regardless.

        WEll, a trainee con artist, maybe, because I didn’t continue to convince myself its “value”.

        Like

      • Bryan Hemming
        May 3, 2012

        Don’t con yourself. You ain’t that good a con artist.

        Like

    • Bryan Hemming
      May 4, 2012

      Talking about the Frieze of Life, coincidentally an art exhibition called Frieze is taking place in New York as I write. I link to an article about it in The Guardian, which just happens to mention how bouyant the international art market is. New York warms to Frieze as fair muscles in on US art market

      Like

  4. Wallace Studios
    May 3, 2012

    Screaming right along with you. Interesting points and well written. Thanks.

    Like

Don't bottle it up, let everybody know your opinion. And please feel free to leave a link to any of your recent posts

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in Art, Articles and tagged , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Rules on comments

As the comments sections are not intended to be general forums, comments are expected to bear some relevance to the subject of the post. Nevertheless, I do allow some generous leeway in this, particularly if I judge the comment to be of special interest.

Although I'm only too happy to link to your posts, those posts should be your own work, and not the work of others, due to copyright issues.

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Blogs I check out

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

These caught my eye

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Hits

  • 60,278 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Pages

Politics and Insights

Public interest issues, policy, equality, human rights, social science

VIVID

Hold your verve

El Coleccionista Hipnótico

hypnotist collector

More Crows than Eagles

More Coyotes than Wolves

Spanish scribbles

My journey into sketching and drawing in and around Jimena de la Frontera, Andalucia

The Contrary Farmer

Gene Logsdon Memorial Blogsite

Micheline's Blog

Art, music, books, history & current events

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

Wish I Were Here

Journeys Through Place and Time

