Bryan Hemming

short stories, comment, articles, humour and photography

The King of Spain & Elephants

The most ridiculous excuse I heard for King Juan Carlos of Spain being in Botswana slaughtering elephants over last weekend was the African country is, more or less, so overpopulated with the magnificent beasts you can hardly move. As I said to the wife, you don’t hear of so many elephants going over to Spain to kill King Juan Carlos and his family because of overpopulation of humans in Europe. Read more

Copyright © 2012 Bryan Hemming               Conil

8 comments on “The King of Spain & Elephants

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    April 27, 2012

    So academics are weighing in & disapproving, but WHAT IS TO BE DONE? What’s happening here, Bryan? Can it be stopped? I clicked on the link ‘San’. I didn’t know such a reference existed. 90,000 population – that’s substantial. And what, we’re just going to barge in & say “This is how it’s going to be from now on…”

    It is so enraging. It’s like purity, or simple purity, is determined by man to be eradicated.

    Like

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    April 21, 2012

    Very eloquent. And total news to me. I had no idea King JC had been culling elephants & I think it’s great mercy & wonderful he broke his hip. And I had NO idea he is president of Spain’s WWF. He should be demoted immediately.

    I didn’t know about the bushmen either. I first became aware of their existence from the film THE GODS MUST BE CRAZY and they were so purely lovely. It is extraordinary anyone is living so traditionally, still, on this earth for we have moved into every nook and cranny of the earth, we ‘civilised’ set, have we not? I had no idea the Kalahari had diamonds going on, either. That totally explains it.

    Damn, this should be greater news. You brought me aware, that’s for sure.

    Like

    • Bryan Hemming
      April 21, 2012

      Hi Noeleen, Having written that in a bit of a rush, what with all the links and all, I’ve edited it and corrected some typos.

      There’s some new information about uranium deposits having been discovered in Botswana and the Kalahari now included.

      I will be doing more research, and adding to it over the next few days. Most of the news came as a complete surprise to me.

      Like

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        April 21, 2012

        That sounds interesting Bryan – an update. I will definitely reread about midweek.

        I only noticed one typo myself, but didn’t mention it as I thought it may seem picky! Didn’t want to sound picky when I wasn’t BEING picky – you just can’t help noticing typos when you read though, you know. I enjoyed the read, & will definitely come in for the update. I really appreciate learning this.

        Like

      • Bryan Hemming
        April 29, 2012

        Another tribe being threatened by the fact their lands just happen to sit on a huge reserve of minerals are the Awa tribe of NE Brazil. It’s much worse even than the threat posed to the San. Here’s a link:
        The world’s most threatened tribe

        Like

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        April 29, 2012

        However do you know this stuff, Bryan? I mean, you can’t go hunting, surely, on google for ‘tribes under threat’ – so what is it that you’re in touch with, you become aware of this? Or perhaps you’re into an independent newspaper of some kind. Either way, I think your blog is an excellent way to expose these tragedies. You think the days of genocide are over…. nope. I wish you many, many readers. Again, thank you for my news du jour!

        Like

      • Bryan Hemming
        April 29, 2012

        I’m an incredibly fast reader, Noeleen,, I can get through three newspapers in a morning if I want, and still have time to do other stuff.

        By getting through I mean actually reading lots of their articles. I scan a lot more from browsing the net to find articles that interest.

        Nuff bragging today. With your new site in mind, The first part of Enough For a Drink is just about ready to post and will probably be up tomorrow. With what I read of your site, you might find it very interesting indeed.

        What a coincidence Anji’s Daniel is exactly the same age as yours, eh?

        Like

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes
        April 29, 2012

        Oh, yes a coincidence! How gorgeous. It’s at this age, you really see the man in the making.

        You’re clearly a speed reader. I am SO SLOW! It’s why when I take to perusing blogs, I make sure I have the time to, let alone the mood. A girl at work lent me a book, & it’s one week later and I’m only 1/4 way through (about a lobotomist). I don’t exactly have spare time, & when I do get it, I will to express first before anything.

        I will be very interested indeed to read Enough For a Drink. My gosh, how timely…

        Like

Don't bottle it up, let everybody know your opinion. And please feel free to leave a link to any of your recent posts

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2012 by in Articles, Humour.

Member of The Internet Defense League

Rules on comments

As the comments sections are not intended to be general forums, comments are expected to bear some relevance to the subject of the post. Nevertheless, I do allow some generous leeway in this, particularly if I judge the comment to be of special interest.

Although I'm only too happy to link to your posts, those posts should be your own work, and not the work of others, due to copyright issues.

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Blogs I check out

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

These caught my eye

Follow Bryan Hemming on WordPress.com

Hits

  • 60,358 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Pages

Politics and Insights

Public interest issues, policy, equality, human rights, social science

VIVID

Hold your verve

El Coleccionista Hipnótico

hypnotist collector

More Crows than Eagles

More Coyotes than Wolves

Spanish scribbles

My journey into sketching and drawing in and around Jimena de la Frontera, Andalucia

The Contrary Farmer

Gene Logsdon Memorial Blogsite

Micheline's Blog

Art, music, books, history & current events

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

Wish I Were Here

Journeys Through Place and Time

